AMPONTAN

Japan from the inside out

Fugu: Japan’s potentially deadly delicacy

Posted by ampontan on Friday, February 23, 2007

“I cannot see her tonight.
I have to give her up
So I will eat fugu.”
– Buson

Fugu restaurantONE of the oldest gags in Japan is the guy in a restaurant eating fugu who clutches his throat, makes gagging sounds, and pretends he’s dying on the spot.

That’s because eating the fugu, or globefish, will kill you if it has been improperly prepared. The liver and the ovaries contain the deadly poison tetrodotoxin, and one fish contains enough to kill 30 people.

Fugu consumption has been periodically prohibited in Japan, and it still is in certain areas. The dish is the only one never served to the Emperor.

The potential danger is the reason for licensing the chefs in Japan who prepare it. Fugu also takes a long time to prepare. The combination of skilled chefs, long preparation time, and the psychological appeal of flirting with danger makes dining on the fish an expensive proposition.

The potential profit is one reason Ureshino in Saga Prefecture is lobbying for authorization to raise non-poisonous fugu in fish farms on land. According to a Saga Shimbun report (in Japanese), the prefectural government claims fugu are deadly because the food they eat contains toxins, and these toxins accumulate in the fish’s body. (The idea that you are what you eat seems to be true for fugu, too.) They also claim, based on research conducted by Nagasaki University, that fugu raised on land and prevented from feeding on other creatures with toxins will grow up to be non-poisonous.

Hiroshige fugu at top right

Saga and Ureshino petitioned a Cabinet committee on food safety to allow these fugu to be served in Ureshino inns, where they are currently prohibited. They also have submitted a plan for preventing non-poisonous fugu from getting mixed in with the ordinary poisonous fish.

The Ministry of Health, Labor, and Welfare already has looked at the data presented by Nagasaki University and they aren’t buying it. They don’t think it explains the mechanism through which the fish become toxic. The Ministry first wants to see data from a new facility that uses the new breeding techniques before they change their mind. So Saga and Ureshino have appealed to the committee to consider the issue again.

If safe fugu becomes easily available, will it eliminate the thrill people get from eating it and cause the price to drop?

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to TwitterAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Yahoo BuzzAdd to Newsvine

8 Responses to “Fugu: Japan’s potentially deadly delicacy”

  1. [...] blogs about the poisonous delicacy, Fugu, and the research and attempt in breeding non-poisonous fugu in Japan. Oiwan [...]

  2. Corey said

    My mother in law (Chinese) does a delicious deep-fried fugu. That’s actually the only way I’ve ever eaten it, but I highly recommend it!

  3. chapan said

    Interesting article. I have also just posted an article on fugu (rewrote something I wrote in 1992) that looks at fugu from a different perspective. I have just taken a quick look around your site and am very impressed with what I have seen. When I have more time, I will get back. Meanwhile, keep up the good work.

  4. ampontan said

    Chapan: Thanks for the kind words. Why don’t you give us the link for your article?

  5. chapan said

    Ampontan, here is the link to the article: http://chapan.wordpress.com/tag/food-and-drink/
    I haven’t got many articles up yet but I am working on it. For the past few months I’ve been working on the release of my first novel (in Japanese), which went on sale today.

  6. tomojiro said

    Chapan

    I saw your blogs. Few articles, but all interesting. Like to see you blog evolving.

    By the way, congratulations for your novel! Could you share the title with us?

  7. [...] Comments tomojiro on Fugu: Japan’s potentially deadly delicacychapan on Fugu: Japan’s potentially deadly delicacylirelou on Eastwood’s Iwo Jima: A new view of the [...]

  8. chapan said

    Tomojiro,

    Thank you for you kind comments, and please excuse me for not replying sooner to you. I am a newcomer to blogging and when tried to upload the answer I wrote last week, I did something wrong and my response and your comment vanished from the screen. I have only just found it; so here is my response. I have uploaded a few more articles since last week and will be uploading regularly from now on.

    Do you have a blog? If yes, could you let me have the address so that I can visit. You can get all the details of my book at (http://www.alicekiyokawa.com). Please take a look. There are also some articles up there.

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 118 other followers

